Kazimir Malevich: Not Only Black Square

From 24 November, VDNH Worker and Kolkhoz Woman Pavilion will host the exhibition Kazimir Malevich: Not Only Black Square. The project brings together pieces that illustrate various aspects of the great artist's work, including some that do not quite fit into the public's established ideas about the personality and achievements of one of the most significant artists of the past century.

Buy tickets

The first decade of the twentieth century, when Malevich's artistic career began, is vividly represented by a 1906 impressionist sketch from the Sepherot Foundation's collection called House with Verandah, with a fragment of a painting on the reverse side that provides an insight into the artist's earliest (non-extant) painting.

Pieces from regional museums, which the artist deliberately sold to the State Fund as his best works, are rare guests to Moscow: Haymaker (1912) from the Nizhny Novgorod State Art Museum, Four Squares (1915) from the A.N. Radischev State Art Museum in Saratov, Suprematism from the Yekaterinburg Museum of Fine Arts, as well as the painting Life in a Big Hotel (1913) from the Samara Regional Art Museum, whose authentication ten years ago turned into a real investigation.

EXHIBITION TOURS

Tours of the exhibition Kazimir Malevich: Not Only Black Square will start from 25 November. TIME: 7 p.m. on weekdays, 12 p.m., 2 p.m., 4 p.m. and 6 p.m. on weekends. PRICE: 250 roubles. You can take a scheduled tour as part of a group or book an individual tour at any convenient time.

For more information, call the 24/7 helpline: +7 (495) 544-34-00
To book an individual tour, call +7 (495) 544-34-96, +7 (495) 544-34-73 or e-mail: tour@vdnh.ru.

The exhibition will also provide its visitors with a unique opportunity to discover Malevich paintings from Russian and foreign private collections, including the collections of Valery Dudakov and Marina Kashuro (Three Figures in a Field, 1928–1930), Inge and Philip van den Hurk (Portrait of Elizaveta Yakovleva, 1932) and the Sepherot Foundation (Suprematism. Rectangle and Circle, 1915). One of the exhibition's real discoveries will be Winter Landscape (1929) from a private collection, which, until recently, was only known to experts.

In addition, visitors will be able to see the little-known heliogravures from the Moscow Art Theatre's Jubilee Album and his Patriotic Lubok — Malevich's lithographic posters and postcards, created at the beginning of the First World War (Vladimir Mayakovsky wrote the texts for these prints). Visitors to the exhibition will also see an unusual aspect of Malevich, as the creator of a bottle for Severny eau de cologne, designed for the Brocard & Co Partnership in the early 1910s.

Material connected with the artist's family is also of particular interest, including late decorative graphic compositions made by his younger brother, Mechislav Severinovich Malevich (1882–1962). Thanks to this exhibition, researchers and the general public will be able to see the personality of this Russian avant-garde artist in a new, richer way and get a better understanding of the context of the epoch in which he lived and created.

Information about the project

The exhibition Kazimir Malevich: Not Only Black Square at the Worker and Kolkhoz Woman Pavilion is devoted to the 20th-century reformer of art and creator of suprematism, Kazimir Severinovich Malevich (1879–1935). The exhibition is curated by Aleksandra Shatskikh, professor of art history and a leading researcher of the Russian avant-garde, who has written about the works of Kazimir Malevich and Marc Chagall.

A vast range of documentary materials from state and private collections will accompany the exhibition. Photos, letters, books, diaries, infographics and reconstructions illustrate Malevich's path as an artist, theoretician and a cultural figure and will unveil new surprising aspects of his personal and artistic life.

The exhibition will include works from the collections of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, the Mayakovskiy State Museum, the Yekaterinburg Museum of Fine Arts, the V.I. Surikov Krasnoyarsk Art Gallery, the Moscow Museum of Modern Art, the Nizhny Novgorod State Art Museum, the Russian State Archive of Literature and Art, the St. Petersburg State Museum of Theatre and Music, the Samara Regional Art Museum, the Radischev State Art Museum in Saratov, the Tula Regional Art Museum, the collection of Valery Dudakov and Marina Kashuro (Moscow), the Sepherot Foundation, etc.

VENUE: the Worker and Kolkhoz Woman Pavilion.
TIME: every day except Mondays from 11 a.m to 10 p.m.
PRICE: adults: 300 roubles, children from 6 to 16, full-time students and pensioners: 100 roubles.
FREE: children up to 6 years old, orphans, children without parental care, people with disabilities, veterans of the World War II and members of large families with at least one child under 16.
ORGANISER: JSC VDNH.

Год публикации Состоится в ближайшее время

«Казимир Малевич. Не только «Черный квадрат»

24 ноября на ВДНХ в павильоне «Рабочий и колхозница» открывается выставка «Казимир Малевич. Не только «Черный квадрат». В проекте собраны работы, демонстрирующие разные грани творчества великого мастера, в том числе и те, что не совсем укладываются в уже укоренившиеся зрительские представления о личности и достижениях одного из знаковых художников прошлого столетия.

Купить билет

1900-е годы — начало творческого пути Малевича — ярко характеризует натурный этюд из коллекции Sepherot Foundation «Дом с верандой» 1906 года с фрагментом картины на обороте, дающим представление о самой ранней (не сохранившейся) живописи художника.

Нечастые гости в Москве — произведения из региональных музеев, которые художник целенаправленно продавал в Госфонд как свои лучшие работы: «Косарь» (1912) из Нижегородского государственного художественного музея, «Четыре квадрата» (1915) из Саратовского государственного художественного музея им. А.Н. Радищева, «Супрематизм» из Екатеринбургского музея изобразительных искусств, а также картина «Жизнь в большой гостинице» (1913) из Самарского областного художественного музея, атрибуция которой десять лет назад стала настоящим детективным расследованием.

Также выставка представит уникальную возможность познакомиться с живописью Малевича из российских и зарубежных частных собраний, включая коллекции Валерия Дудакова и Марины Кашуро («Три фигуры в поле», 1928–1930), Инге и Филипа ван ден Хурк («Портрет Елизаветы Яковлевой», 1932) и Sepherot Foundation («Супрематизм. Прямоугольник и круг», 1915). Одним из открытий выставки станет известный до сих пор лишь специалистам «Зимний пейзаж» (1929) из частного собрания.

Кроме того, на выставке покажут малоизвестные широкой публике гелиогравюры из «Юбилейного альбома Московского Художественного театра» и «патриотический лубок» — литографированные плакаты и открытки, созданные Малевичем в начале Первой мировой войны (тексты к лубкам сочинял Владимир Маяковский). Посетители выставки смогут увидеть и совсем необычного Малевича — автора флакона одеколона «Северный», выполненного для «Товарищества Брокар и Ко» в начале 1910-х годов.

Особый интерес представляют материалы, связанные с семейным окружением художника, включающие поздние декоративные графические композиции его младшего брата Мечислава Севериновича Малевича (1882–1962). Таким образом, исследователи и широкая публика смогут по-новому и более объемно увидеть личность русского авангардиста, а также понять контекст эпохи, в которой он жил и творил.

Информация о проекте

Выставочный проект «Казимир Малевич. Не только «Черный квадрат» в павильоне «Рабочий и колхозница» посвящен реформатору искусства XX века, создателю супрематизма Казимиру Севериновичу Малевичу (1879–1935). Куратор выставки — один из ведущих исследователей русского авангарда, доктор искусствоведения Александра Шатских — автор трудов, посвященных творчеству Казимира Малевича и Марка Шагала.

Выставка сопровождается обширным документальным материалом из государственных и частных архивов. Фотографии, письма, книжные издания, дневники, инфографика и реконструкции иллюстрируют путь Малевича как художника, теоретика и культурного деятеля и раскрывают новые, неожиданные аспекты его личной и творческой жизни.

На выставке будут представлены работы из собраний Государственного музея изобразительных искусств имени А.С. Пушкина, Государственного музея В.В. Маяковского, Екатеринбургского музея изобразительных искусств, Красноярского художественного музея имени В.И. Сурикова, Московского музея современного искусства, Нижегородского государственного художественного музея, Российского государственного архива литературы и искусства, Санкт-Петербургского государственного музея театрального и музыкального искусства, Самарского областного художественного музея, Саратовского государственного художественного музея имени А.Н. Радищева, Тульского областного художественного музея, коллекции Валерия Дудакова и Марины Кашуро, Sepherot Foundation и др.

МЕСТО: павильон «Рабочий и колхозница».
ВРЕМЯ:Ежедневно, кроме понедельника 11:00–22:00.
СТОИМОСТЬ: взрослые — 300 рублей, дети от 6 до 16 лет, студенты дневных форм обучения и пенсионеры — 100 рублей.
БЕСПЛАТНО: дети до 6 лет, сироты, дети, оставшиеся без попечения родителей, инвалиды, ветераны ВОВ и члены многодетных семей до достижения младшим ребенком возраста 16 лет.
ОРГАНИЗАТОР: АО «ВДНХ».




Стоимость
Полный билет   300 Р
Дети от 6 до 16 лет, студенты дневных форм обучения и пенсионеры   100 Р
Бесплатно: дети до 6 лет, сироты, дети, оставшиеся без попечения родителей, инвалиды, ветераны ВОВ и члены многодетных семей до достижения младшим ребенком возраста 16 лет 
Дата проведения
Ежедневно, кроме понедельника
Расписание
ежедневно
С 11:00 до 22:00
Купить билет

БИЛЕТЫ
НА МЕРОПРИЯТИЯ ВДНХ
НОВОСТИ И АНОНСЫ ВДНХ
Подписаться