Уважаемые гости, с 22 января музеи ВДНХ снова открыты для посещения. Подробнее
Ок

The Golden Ear fountain

Description
History
About place

The Golden Ear fountain is the third largest historic fountain at VDNH. It's situated in the middle of Kamensky Pond No. 3 in the exhibition's Landscape Park.

The Golden Ear towers over a flat foundation, and there are three cornucopias at its foot with vegetables and fruits such as cabbage, melon, tomatoes, apples, grapes etc. The symbolism of the fountain is pretty obvious: ears of plants have since time immemorial symbolised revival, life, crops and fertility.

Read more

The Golden Ear is regarded as the most spectacular fountain at VDNH. It has 66 jets of water. 30 of them reach 25 meters in height.

Date of Construction, Architect

The fountain was built in 1954. Architects: K.T. Topuridze and G.D. Konstantinovsky, sculptor: P.I. Dobrynin.

Status

Cultural heritage site of federal importance.

Current State

The fountain was relaunched on 15 July 2018 following a comprehensive renovation. Prior to that, it didn't work for 30 years. Thanks to competent historical work, the composition's 1954 appearance has been restored. The fountain has been adorned with golden smalt tiles made from opaque stained glass. Restorers managed to form 83.89% of the total area of this material into sculptural elements. In addition, the technicians upgraded all the internal equipment of the fountain, all the pipping and water supply systems were replaced.

The Kamensky Pond, above which the Golden Spike rises, has also been put into order. It was cleaned for the first time ever. As a result, the depth of the pond increased by 0.79 metres—18 thousand cubic metres of silt and clay were removed from it. In addition, the bridge for feeding fish has been renovated.

Background

By the official opening of the National Agriculture Exhibition on 1 August 1939, an alley was built across the entire territory from Collective Farms Square (now the Square of the Friendship of Peoples) all the way to the ponds area where visitors could get a great panoramic view of the beautiful ponds.

The architect I. Petrov, who later would go on to create the Botanical Garden of the Russian Academy of Sciences, another magical place, took part in designing the fountain and the adjacent territories. The elegant Ear Fountain was made from copper sheets, which set it apart from the white pavilions situated on the shores of the pond. The first Ear Fountain barely made it to the Great Patriotic War (WWII), the copper sheets darkened and crumbled, so, in 1949, the fountain was dismantled.

The Ear Fountain in the ponds of the National Agricultural Exhibition.

When the National Agricultural Exhibition was undergoing a massive renovation in 1950–1954, it was found that the fountain was in critical condition, so a decision was made to not simply replace the old structures but to go ahead and build a completely new fountain. There were some very good reasons for that, seeing how the scale of the other structures at the exhibition had changed and the old fountain was in a very bad state of repair. The new fountain, shaped like a giant ear, was 16 metres tall and was intended as a triumphal column of socialist agriculture. It was designed by the chief fountain designer K. Topuridze. It was K. Topiridze and G. Konstantinovsky who also designed the legendary Friendship of Peoples Fountain.

Just like the Stone Flower fountain, the Golden Ear was made from reinforced concrete elements plated in malt of various hues. Huge cornucopias, covered with multicoloured glass tile and trimmed with grey granite, were placed on the foundation. And if we look at the plan of the fountain from the top, then along with the pedestal, it looks like a six-pointed star, which allows for the broadest possible interpretation of the symbolism of the fountain. It was no coincidence than in his books on the architects of the National Agricultural Exhibition, A. Zhukov stressed the link between the new Ear and the pavilions surrounding it, among which the chief architect of the post-war exhibition highlighted Pavilion No. 36, Water Industry, as one that was intentionally made to look like an ancient Egyptian temple.

В подборке

Фонтан «Золотой колос»

Описание
История
О месте

Фонтан «Золотой колос» — третий по величине исторический фонтан ВДНХ. Он расположен в центре Каменского пруда №3 Ландшафтного парка Выставки.

«Золотой колос» возвышается на плоском основании, а у его подножия размещены 3 рога изобилия с овощами и фруктами: капустой, тыквой, помидорами, яблоками, виноградом и другими. Символика фонтана очевидна, потому что с древних времен колосья означали возрождение, жизнь, урожай и плодородие. 

Читать дальше

«Золотой колос» считается самым зрелищным фонтаном ВДНХ. Это 66 струй воды, 30 из которых достигают 25 метров в высоту.

Когда построен, кто автор

Создан в 1954 году. Архитекторы — К.Т. Топуридзе и Г.Д. Константиновский, скульптор — П.И. Добрынин.

Статус

Объект культурного наследия федерального значения.

Современное состояние

15 июля 2018 года фонтан был запущен после комплексной реставрации. До этого фонтан не работал 30 лет. Благодаря грамотной исторической работе композиции вернули облик времен 1954 года. Отделали фонтан золотой смальтой из глушеного цветного стекла. Реставраторам удалось перенести на скульптурные элементы 83,89 процента от всей площади этого материала. Кроме этого, специалисты обновили все внутренние конструкции фонтана, а также все трубы и водоподводящую систему.

Каменский пруд, над которым возвышается «Золотой колос», также привели в порядок. Его почистили впервые за все время. В результате глубина пруда стала больше на 0,79 метра — из него вынули 18 тысяч кубических метров ила и глины. Дополнительно тут обновили мостик для кормления рыб.

История создания

К открытию ВСХВ 1 августа 1939 года через всю территорию, от площади Колхозов (ныне Дружбы народов) вплоть до запрудной зоны, была продолжена аллея, завершавшаяся перспективой на красивые пруды.

В разработке проекта фонтана и прилегающей к нему территории принимал участие архитектор И.А. Петров, ставший затем создателем еще одного необыкновенного места — Ботанического сада РАН. Изящный фонтан «Колос» был выполнен из медных листов, что выделяло его на фоне белоснежных павильонов, расположившихся на берегах пруда. Первый «Колос» едва дожил до войны — медные листы темнели и разрушались — и был демонтирован в 1949 году.

Фонтан «Колос» в запрудной зоне ВСХВ

Когда в 1950–1954-х годах ВСХВ масштабно реконструировалась, в связи с аварийным состоянием фонтана было решено не просто заменить все прежние конструкции, но создать новый «Колос», что было оправданным решением в связи с изменившимся масштабом сооружений Выставки и техническим состоянием прежнего фонтана. Новый фонтан в виде гигантского колоса поднялся на высоту 16 метров наподобие «триумфальной колонны» социалистического сельского хозяйства. Автором стал «главный по фонтанам» — К.Т. Топуридзе. Он и Г.Д. Константиновский также создали легендарный фонтан «Дружба народов».

Как и фонтан «Каменный цветок», «Золотой колос» был выполнен из железобетонных элементов, облицованных смальтой разных оттенков. На основании, отделанном красным полированным гранитом, были установлены огромные рога изобилия, покрытые многоцветной смальтой. А если взглянуть на план фонтана сверху, то вместе с постаментом его композиция представляет собой шестиконечную звезду, что способствует максимально широкой трактовке образно-символической стороны фонтана. Неслучайно в своей книге «Архитектура ВСХВ» А.Ф. Жуков подчеркивал взаимосвязь нового «Колоса» с окружающими его павильонами, из которых главный архитектор послевоенной Выставки выделял павильон №36 «Водное хозяйство», в своих очертаниях напоминающий древнеегипетский храм.

В подборке