Уважаемые гости, возможны заторы автотранспорта и очереди на въезд у КПП «Хованский». Вы можете воспользоваться другими въездами на территорию Выставки.

Ок

Book Pavilion. Building 516

Today till 22:00
Description
History
About place

The Book Pavilion is open to the public.

The Book Pavilion is a book club that welcomes any and all visitors. Please come here to unwind with a good book, contribute to a discussion or an educational project, share ideas over a cup of coffee or purchase the latest in literature.

The austere exterior, reminiscent of an ancient temple, contrasts against sleek and cosy interior spaces. This place is truly a pleasure to be in, as it offers everything your bookworm heart desires: a snug café, a diverse cultural programme and, of course, so much to read. You can grab practically any book and settle in a comfy armchair to do research or escape to a make-believe world. And if you find yourself unable to let go, you will always be able to purchase your book and take it home.

Read more

Date of Construction, Architect

This pavilion was designed by V. M. Bochkaryova and built in 1952–1954.

Name Changes

No changes.

Current State

The ROSIZO State Museum and Exhibition Centre and the Russian Military Historical Society opened this pavilion on 19 October 2017, with the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation. Building No. 516 was meant to become a haven of intellectual leisure.

Following a renovation, its interior has been divided into several zones:

  • the reading hall, a multifunctional transformable space that brings together elements of a classical library reading room and a more intimate area with couches, floor pillows and even blankets;
  • the lectorium, which can be used for holding meetings with writers, as well as creative writing school presentations and projects, literary recitals, new book reveals and movie screenings;
  • the book store;
  • the parking area, which can also serve as an additional outdoor space for visitors and open-air events during the warm season.

Finally, the Book Pavilion boasts an excellent collection of rare and short-run contemporary publications, alongside book rec and book sharing services.

Schedule
Daily
10:00 — 22:00
Tickets price
Entry ticket
free
Contacts
Address
119 Prospekt Mira, Building 516
Website

Background

The Book Pavilion (Building 516) was erected in 1952–1954. Its architect, V. M. Bochkaryova, was also responsible for the post-war reconstruction of Pavilion No. 30 Oil Crops (Microbiology). It has an antique aesthetic, which was typical of the Soviet architecture after World War Two.

The highlight of the building is the four-column Doric portico, crowned with a triangular pediment. In the tympanum, there is a relief image of a book within a wreath of oak twigs. Surrounding this are a hammer and sickle with ribbons waving to the sides. Another important detail points to the book store's key specialisation: education. The education-themed medallions on the portico's frieze feature three repeating motifs: a drawing compass, a protractor and a sheet of paper.

History of Expositions

The Book Pavilion has two floors: the ground floor used to be taken up by a sales area, while the first-floor section was called Books by Mail: any exhibition visitor could come there to place a mail order for a book they were interested in. Over the first three months of the Exhibition's post-war operation, as many as 4 thousand orders were completed, totalling RUB 140 thousand in value. The same section was also used for lectures, seminars and literature and music recitals.

The guests were particularly interested in the Exhibition guides and layouts, special literature on agriculture and science, the works of leading Soviet researchers, fiction and construction and art manuals.

The Book Pavilion continued to operate as a book store throughout its entire history, up until 2009. The remarkably pure classical architectural forms and perfect integrity of the original design make the Book Pavilion truly stand out among the other surviving structures of the All-Union Agricultural Exhibition.

Interesting Facts

The Book Pavilion stands at the highest elevation level throughout the entire VDNH, which can be interpreted as a symbolic nod to the role it played at the post-war expo and to the importance of printed literature during that period in history.

В подборке

Павильон Книги. Строение №516

Книжный рай
Павильон Книги. Строение №516 Место
Книжный клуб, открытый для каждого
Узнать больше
Павильон Книги. Строение №516 Место
Работает сервис литературных рекомендаций и букшеринг
Узнать больше
Павильон Книги. Строение №516 Место
Здесь собрана библиотека редких изданий
Узнать больше
Описание
История
О месте

Работа павильона временно приостановлена.

Павильон «Книги» — книжный клуб, открытый для каждого. Здесь можно отдохнуть за чтением, принять участие в дискуссиях и образовательных проектах, поделиться идеями за чашкой кофе и обзавестись книжными новинками.

Читать дальше

Когда построен, кто автор

Построен в 1952–1954 годах по проекту В.М. Бочкаревой. 

Смена названия

Не менялось.

Современное состояние

19 октября 2017 года государственный музейно-выставочный центр РОСИЗО и Российское военно-историческое общество при поддержке Министерства культуры Российской Федерации открыли исторический павильон №516 «Книги» — территорию интеллектуального досуга.

После проведенного ремонта в пространствах павильона организовано несколько зон:

  • читальный зал — многофункциональное пространство-трансформер, объединяющее классический читальный зал с зоной для отдыха и чтения в домашней атмосфере (с диванами, пуфиками и пледами);
  • лекторий — зал для проведения встреч с писателями, лекций и образовательных проектов литературной школы, литературных вечеров, презентаций новых книг, кинопоказов;
  • книжный магазин и кафе;
  • парковая зона, которая позволит создать дополнительное пространство для посетителей в теплое время года и возможности для проведения различных мероприятий на открытом воздухе.

Здесь также собрана библиотека современных редких и малотиражных изданий, работает сервис литературных рекомендаций и букшеринг. 

Стоимость билетов
Входной билет
бесплатно
Контакты

История создания

Торговый павильон «Дом книги» (строение 516) был построен в 1952–1954 годах по проекту В.М. Бочкаревой — автора послевоенной реконструкции павильона №30 «Масличные культуры» («Микробиологическая промышленность»). Своим обликом павильон рождает ассоциации с античностью, что было характерно для архитектуры послевоенной эпохи.

Главное украшение торгового павильона — дорический четырехколонный портик, завершенный треугольным фронтоном. В тимпане фронтона — рельеф изображения оплетенной дубовыми ветками книги в окружении серпа и молота с развевающимися по сторонам лентами. Важной деталью, которая подчеркивает основные направления литературы, в основном представленной в ассортименте магазина, являются медальоны на тему образования с тремя повторяющимися композициями на фризе портика: циркуль, транспортир и лист.

История экспозиций

В павильоне два этажа: на первом располагался торговый зал, на втором — отдел «Книга — почтой», где любой посетитель выставки мог подать заявку на доставку интересующего его издания. Только за первые три месяца работы послевоенной Выставки было выполнено 4 тысячи заказов на общую сумму свыше 140 тысяч рублей. В том же зале проводились лекции, семинары и литературно-музыкальные вечера.

Наибольшим спросом у гостей всегда пользовались путеводители и планы Выставки, сельскохозяйственная и научно-техническая литература, труды выдающихся отечественных ученых, художественная литература, книги по строительству и изобразительному искусству.

Весь период своего существования павильон работал по первоначальному назначению, как книжный магазин, вплоть до 2009 года. Необыкновенная чистота классических форм и высокая степень сохранности делают павильон «Дом книги» исключительным в ряду построек ВСХВ, сохранившихся до наших дней.

Интересные факты

Дом книги расположен на самой высокой географической отметке ВДНХ, что подчеркивает значимость наличия книжного магазина для послевоенной Выставки и роли печатного слова в культуре послевоенной поры.

В подборке
Уважаемые гости!

С 28 марта по 30 апреля закрыта для посещения вся территория ВДНХ, включая строения и уличные пространства — аллеи, скверы, парк «Останкино» и другие объекты.

О возобновлении обычного графика работы мы сообщим дополнительно.

С заботой о вас.

Команда ВДНХ.