Уважаемые гости, каток на ВДНХ закрыт. До встречи следующей зимой!
Ок

Stone Flower Fountain

Description
History
About place

The Stone Flower fountain is one of the four most famous historic fountains at VDNH. The fountain is inspired by the bright images from P.P. Bazhov's Tales of the Urals and is replete with coloured smalt and gorgeous sculptural details. At the centre of the fountain, there is a large bowl shaped like a flower blooming among gems. 16 bronze still life compositions representing the gifts of nature from each of the Soviet republics are placed on granite pedestals.

Read more

Date of Construction, Architect

The fountain was built in 1954. Architect: K.T. Topuridze, sculptor: P.I. Dobrynin.

Status

Cultural heritage site of federal importance.

Current State

Since April 2019, Moscow residents and visitors to the capital have been able to see the Stone Flower the way it was intended by the original designer, Konstantin Topuridze. After the renovation, the fountain will be stronger and brighter, just like it was on the day of its launch in 1954.

In 2018, before the renovation started, the Stone Flower had been in a rundown condition. Several decorative pieces were missing. In certain sections, only 25% of the vitreous enamel had survived. Due to the long-term deterioration of the pumps, the fountain was operating at less than half of its capacity, with many water jets out of commission.

The historically accurate colour scheme of the fountain was recreated. In 1954, two types of smalt were used to decorate the fountain: coloured marblite made of opaque glass and multi-coloured cantarella made of sheets of gold of different shades. While those decorations were being dismantled, restorators were able to preserve some 30% of the original smalt. The rest was manufactured in Moscow and Saint Petersburg using the preserved original pieces as the prototype. The total weight of the smalt used in the fountain is about eight tonnes.

All the equipment inside the fountain was repaired. 11 new pumps were installed to replace the five old pumps. This changed the height of the fountain jets from the seven or eight metres to the historically accurate 15 metres.

Contacts

Background

The Stone Flower fountain came about from the design of the new Main Fountain of the exhibition that was to be called the Sheaf. The fountain was supposed to be the main decoration of the new All-Union Agricultural Exhibition that was under construction at the time. It was intended to express to visitors the successes in the restoration of the country after the Second World War through the friendship of peoples in the ethnically diverse country, close cooperation between collective farmers and workers and the successful use of the discoveries of Soviet science.

The fountain was designed in the classical style as an element of the mid-20th century manor estate complex.

The early 1950s design by the architect K. Topuridze and the sculpture by P. Doprynin were so bold and complex that it soon became clear that actually building them could prove far too difficult. Just think about it: a huge sheaf of all the main agricultural crops was to be placed on the top tier of a multi-tier cascade, while stylised dolphins were to be placed at its base. One sketch for the design shows the stems of the agricultural crops looking like cattle heads. The mid tier featured a round dance of 16 girls representing the Soviet republics, and the lower tier had bas-reliefs and shells made up of water flowing from the mid tier. And that was just the main set of sculptures. The sides of the bowl were to be adorned with 16 still lifes symbolising the diversity of agricultural crops grown in every republic. The names of the republics were to be inscribed on the granite base of each still life. On the inside of the sides, there were 16 groups of geese. 32 sturgeon would be 'swimming' in the bowl itself.

Seeing how overloaded the design was, the authors figured there was enough stuff in it for two fountains rather than one. The problem was that construction had already begun and the girl sculptures had already been delivered from Leningrad to Moscow. The octagonal square that had appeared by 1952 in front of the Main Pavilion, and that was supposed to look like an amphitheatre for mass gatherings, was just the place for another fountain, as there was suddenly no need for its original intended purpose. So a decision was made to build another fountain, and some of the elements were moved to it. That new fountain ended up as the Friendship of Peoples Fountain.

Since the main sculptural composition of the fountain moved, a new idea was needed for the freed-up space to tell about the great wealth of the country and the development of various agricultural industries. At around about the same time, a new film was released based on P. Bazhov's fairy tales, so inspiration was drawn from that.

A budding stone flower was to be placed at the top of the central sculpture. Its petals are adorned with unique pictures made from golden cantarella and smalt in all sorts of hues. The crystals found at the base of the flower highlight its man-made beauty with their shapes and colours. That's how far the main sculptural and design differences between the two fountains go. That's why no new fountain design was ever created. Rather, work continued based on the drawings in the existing working documentation with nuances being refined as construction proceeded. This allowed the fountain to be finished in significantly less time.

The results exceeded all expectations. Both Moscow residents and visitors liked it a lot.

Unfortunately, to a large extent, the fountain followed the same historical path as the country. The smalt and cantarella were soon darkening and peeling off. Pieces small and large were soon falling off of the sculptures. The pipes were rotting and the pumps began to break down. Despite all that, the fountain was kept in operation through the heroic efforts of the people who maintained it until the renovation that began in 2018.

Experts estimated that by the time the renovation started, some 75% of the smalt and cantarella covering the flower, the crystals and other plating elements had been lost or were in bad need of replacement. All the engineering systems and pumps had to be replaced as well.

As a result of the renovation that was completed in the summer of 2019, the Stone Flower fountain was returned to its historical look. The restoration experts managed to put some 20% of the original smalt back in place as well as 70% of the granite plating of the flower, and of the side plates of the bowl, only 2 were replaced.

В подборке

Изменение в работе контрольно-пропускных пунктов группы «Экспо» Подробнее

Ок

Фонтан «Каменный цветок»

Описание
История
О месте

Фонтан «Каменный цветок» — один из четырех знаменитых исторических фонтанов ВДНХ. Навеянный яркими образами уральских сказок П. Бажова, фонтан изобилует  пышными скульптурными деталями. Центр композиции — чаша в виде цветка, распускающегося среди самоцветов. На гранитных постаментах, украшенных чугунными волютами, установлено 16 бронзовых композиций-натюрмортов с дарами природы союзных республик. 

Читать дальше

Когда построен, кто автор

Создан в 1954 году. Архитектор — К.Т. Топуридзе, скульптор — П.И. Добрынин. 

Статус

Объект культурного наследия федерального значения.

Современное состояние

В апреле 2019 года москвичи и гости столицы увидели «Каменный цветок» таким, как его задумывал архитектор Константин Топуридзе. После реставрации фонтан стал мощнее и ярче — как в момент пуска в 1954 году. 

К моменту начала реставрации в 2018 году фонтан «Каменный цветок» находился в плачевном состоянии. Часть декоративных элементов была разрушена, утрата смальты достигала 75% на некоторых местах. Многолетний износ насосов привел к тому, что «Каменный цветок» работал менее чем на 50 процентов мощности, многие струи вообще не били. 

Была воссоздана историческая цветовая гамма фонтана. В 1954 году для его украшения использовали два вида смальты: цветной марблит из непрозрачного глушеного стекла и разноцветную кантарель из листов сусального золота разных оттенков. Во время демонтажа специалистам удалось сохранить около 30% исходной смальты, остальную изготовили в Москве и Санкт-Петербурге по сохранившимся оригинальным фрагментам. Общий вес использованной смальты составляет около восьми тонн.

Полностью отремонтирована «техническая начинка» фонтана. Вместо пяти старых насосов установлено 11 современных агрегатов. Это позволило поднять высоту струй фонтана с семи-восьми до исторических 15 метров.



Контакты
Телефон
E-mail

История создания

Своим появлением фонтан «Каменный цветок» обязан проекту нового Главного фонтана ВСХВ, носившего название «Сноп». Фонтан должен был украшать новую, строящуюся Всесоюзную сельскохозяйственную выставку, которая бы рассказывала об успехах в восстановлении страны после Великой Отечественной войны на основе дружбы народов многонациональной страны, плодотворном сотрудничестве рабочих и колхозников, и успешном использовании достижений советской науки.

Фонтан проектировался в классическом стиле, как один из элементов дворцово-паркового ансамбля середины ХХ века.

Проект начала 50-х годов архитектора К.Т. Топуридзе и скульптора П.И. Добрынина по своим замыслам был настолько насыщенным, что архитектурное и художественное воплощение представлялось крайне затруднительными. Посудите сами: громадный сноп из основных сельскохозяйственных культур находился на верхнем ярусе многоступенчатого каскада, у его подножия располагались стилизованные рыбы – дельфины. На одном из эскизов к проекту, через стебли сельскохозяйственных культур, выглядывали головы крупного рогатого скота. На среднем ярусе был хоровод из 16 девушек - представительниц союзных республик, на нижнем ярусе – настенные барельефы и раковины переливов воды из среднего яруса. Это только основная скульптурная композиция. Борта чаши должны были украшать 16 натюрмортов, символизировавших разнообразие сельскохозяйственных культур, производимых каждой республикой. На гранитное основание натюрморта должно было быть нанесено название республики. С внутренней стороны бортов чаши на постаментах находилось 16 групп гусей. В самой чаше «плавали» 32 осетра.

Переизбыток идей проекта подвел его авторов к мысли о разделении сооружаемого фонтана на два. Это при том, что строительство уже было начато, а скульптуры девушек перевезены из Ленинграда в Москву. Появившаяся к 1952г. восьмиугольная площадь, строящаяся в виде амфитеатра для проведения массовых мероприятий возле Главного павильона, очень кстати оказалась невостребованной. Было принято соответствующее решение о строительстве нового фонтана и часть элементов композиции «переехала» на новое место. Так появился фонтан, получивший позднее название «Дружба народов».

Поскольку основная скульптурная композиция фонтана изменила место своего расположения, нужна была новая идея для освободившегося места, позволяющая рассказать о несметных богатствах страны, о развитии целого ряда отраслей сельского хозяйства. И такая идея появилась в связи с вышедшим незадолго до этих событий фильмом «Каменный цветок» по мотивам сказов П.П Бажова.

На вершине центральной скульптурной композиции возник бутон раскрывающегося каменного цветка. Его лепестки украшают неповторяющиеся рисунки, выполненные из смальты самых различных оттенков и золотистой кантарели. Расположенные у основания цветка кристаллы, своими формами и цветами подчеркивают его рукотворную красоту. На этом основные скульптурные и строительные различия между фонтанами заканчиваются. По этой причине и не появился проект нового фонтана, а работы велись по чертежам рабочей документации, уточнявшим ее нюансы, что в итоге позволило значительно сократить сроки строительства.

Результаты работы превзошли ожидания. Фонтан был очень популярен среди жителей города и гостей столицы.

К большому сожалению фонтан в полной мере повторил судьбу страны. Смальта и кантарель темнели и осыпались. Отваливались маленькие и большие куски скульптурной композиции. Гнили трубопроводы, выходило из строя насосное оборудование. Не смотря на все это фонтан жил и работал благодаря самоотверженному труду людей, его обслуживавших, до начала реставрации в 2018 году.

По оценке специалистов, к моменту начала реставрационных работ было утрачено или подлежало замене до 75% смальты и кантарели, покрывавшей цветок, кристаллы и остальные элементы облицовки. Требовалась полная замена инженерных сетей и насосного оборудования.

В результате реставрации фонтана «Каменный цветок», завершившейся к лету 2019 года, был восстановлен его исторический облик. Реставраторам удалось возвратить на место около 20% демонтированной смальты, более 70% гранитной облицовки основания цветка, а из облицовочных плит бортов чаши было заменено только 2 шт.

В подборке