Robostation. Pavilion No. 2, Popular Education (former the Pavilion of the North Caucasus)

Tomorrow from 11:00
Description
History
About place

The pavilion is open to the public. You can visit Robostation any day of the week, from 11:00 AM to 8:00 PM. Tickets are available on the website. The pavilion is currently admitting no more than 50 guests at a time.

The pavilion houses the interactive exhibition Robostation where you will find unique robots from South Korea, Japan, China, America, Europe and Russia, as well as learn about the latest trends in robotics.

At the Robostation, you can draw your robo-self-portrait, see the giant robofish, get a robo-fortune-telling, ask the I'm-so-smart robot some tricky questions, hear the latest robo-jokes, play basketball and table football with robots, put on a robot costume and try to score a goal against a robot goalkeeper.

They have a huge interactive play zone where you can also celebrate your child's birthday.

Read more

Date of Construction, Author

The pavilion was built in 1954 based on a design by S. P. Polupanov.

Name Changes

Until 1959: North Caucasus; 1959–1963: Science; 1964–1966: Cosmos.

Status

Cultural heritage site of federal significance.

Current State

The façade of the pavilion is still undergoing conservation and restoration works.


Schedule
Daily
11:00 — 20:00
Facilities
Wi-fi
Payment by card
WC
Loyalty program
Tickets price

Background

From 1939 to 1941, there was a Summer State Circus in place of today's Popular Education Pavilion at the All-Union Agricultural Exhibition. Later, it was replaced by a building resembling the lace-like architectural ensembles of the Russian South, the North Caucasus pavilion. Behind it was the Niva café, designed according to a standard design by the architect L. I. Marinovsky. Within the context of the Exhibition, the pavilion and the café were considered a single concept.

The architect S. P. Polupanov designed the building of the North Caucasus pavilion to be very lightweight and lace-like. The floor plan U-shaped, placed on a stylobate, it looks like it is soaring upward. The general concept of 'flying' is complemented by the elegant colonnade that forms a spacious outdoor hall in front of the entrance and by the tall windows. The cornices and capitals of columns are decorated with stucco floral ornamentation. The building is topped with a low open-work arcading that surrounds the monitor roof.

The sculptures Shepherd and The Kolkhoz Woman (by A. I. Tenet) used to stand in front of the side wings of the pavilion, which is also decorated with arcadings. They symbolised the growth of public cattle-breeding and the mechanisation of crop farming.

In 1993, the Popular Education pavilion got two new architectural elements: two cast-iron moulded vases. Previously, they used to decorate the niches of the Professional Technical Education pavilion, now lost.

Today, the Popular Education pavilion is one of the most vivid compositional elements on the Square of the People's Friendship.

History of Expositions

The first exposition in Pavilion No. 2 was called North Caucasus and Crimea. It occupied 2,300 sq. m. of exposition space and demonstrated the accomplishments of agriculture in the Rostov, Kamensk, Crimea and Grozny Regions, the Stavropol and Krasnodar Territories, and the Dagestan, Kabardino-Balkarian and North-Ossetian SSRs. However, when the RSFSR passed the Crimea Region to the Ukrainian SSR, the corresponding section of the exposition was moved to Pavilion No. 58.

The stands, dioramas and colourful wall panels of the central hall, decorated with a fountain, and the materials of the three halls surrounding it told guests of the All-Union Agricultural Exhibition about lands that produce abundant harvests of grain, rice and soy; lands of boundless gardens and vineyards, plantations of tomatoes, aubergines and peppers; lands of vast pastures, providing sustenance for vast flocks of sheep and herds of horses. The exposition also covered the rich mineral resources of the North Caucasus, such as oil, non-ferrous metals, coal, and covered the world-famous therapeutic mineral baths.

The patterns on the pavilion walls represented various crops typical of the region.

The key feature of that first exposition was a spacious sunroom with tall palm trees, fruit trees and flowers. The flower garden of the stylobate and another near the pavilion featured different flowers of the North Caucasus, too.

In 1959, the pavilion got a new name—Science. Now, its four halls accommodated the latest technology in the fields of computer science, microbiology, physics, chemistry and the pride of the Soviet science establishment—space exploration. At first, the separate space section occupied only the first hall, but in 1962, it spread to include the second hall of the pavilion. Here, one could see the first Soviet satellites, models of space rockets and the other latest designs in space exploration.

From 1959 to 1964, a part of the Estonian SSR exposition that hadn't found room in the nearby pavilion was housed in the greenhouse.

In May 1964, all sections of the exposition, except for the space exploration one, were moved to other buildings at VDNH USSR.

The current name, Popular Education, was given to Pavilion No. 2 in 1967. Back then, it displayed the accomplishments of Soviet education, divided into three big sections: Pre-School Education, General Education Schools, and Specialised Secondary Schools, combined with Higher Education Institutions.

In 1977, for the In a United Country exhibition organised to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Revolution, the hall of Pavilion No. 2 accommodated the exposition of the Latvian SSR.

During a very difficult period for the Main Exhibition of the Country (the 1990s to the early 2000s), it was used as an embassy of the Republic of Georgia, the Museum of the USSR and even the House of Butterflies.

In 2014, restoration works at the Popular Education pavilion became a part of the programme for the renaissance of VDNH. Since the reconstruction, it has been housing the interactive exhibition Robostation.

В подборке

Присоединяйтесь к новому образовательному проекту ВДНХ и Билайн. Вебинары, лекции и курсы ждут вас. Подробнее.
Ок

Робостанция. Павильон №2 «Народное образование» (бывший Северного Кавказа)

Сегодня до 20:00
Робостанция Шоу для всей семьи Лекция
Новогоднее шоу: «Элементарная елка 2.0» Событие
«Элементарная елка» – поверь в научные чудеса!
Узнать больше
Новогоднее шоу: «Элементарная елка 2.0» Событие
Сценарий, созданный при помощи искусственного интеллекта
Узнать больше
Заглянуть в будущее и узнать, что ждет нас дальше
Почему дети не любят читать?
И откуда такая привязанность к гаджетам?
Описание
История
О месте

В этом павильоне располагается интерактивная выставка «Робостанция», в рамках которой можно увидеть уникальных роботов из Южной Кореи, Японии, Китая, Америки, Европы и России и узнать, куда движется робототехнический прогресс.

На «Робостанции» можно нарисовать свой робопортрет, первыми увидеть гигантских роборыб, получить робопредсказание будущего, задать каверзные вопросы роботу-умнику, выучить новый робоанекдот вместе с роботом-шутником, сразиться в баскетбол и настольный футбол, оживить костюм робота и попробовать забить гол роботу-вратарю.

Здесь есть большая интерактивная игровая зона и можно отпраздновать детский День Рождения.

Читать дальше

Когда построен, кто автор

Павильон построен в 1954 году по проекту С. П. Полупанова.

Смена названия

До 1959 года — «Северный Кавказ», в 1959–1963 годах — «Наука», в 1964–1966 годах — «Космос».

Статус

Объект культурного наследия федерального значения.

Современное состояние

Продолжаются реставрационные работы на фасаде павильона.



Расписание
Ежедневно
11:00 — 20:00
Удобства
Wi-fi
Оплата картой
Туалеты
Контакты

История создания

На ВСХВ 1939–1941 годов на месте современного павильона «Народное образование» находился Летний государственный цирк. Впоследствии здесь было возведено здание, напоминающее ажурные архитектурные ансамбли лучших курортов юга России, — павильон «Северный Кавказ». Позади него открылось кафе «Нива», выстроенное по типовому проекту архитектора Л.И. Мариновского. В контексте ансамбля Выставки павильон и кафе рассматривались как единое целое. 

Архитектор С. П. Полупанов сделал здание «Северного Кавказа» воздушным и легким. В плане оно имеет п-образную форму и, поднятое на стилобат, словно стремится ввысь. Дополняют летящий образ и стройная колоннада, образующая перед входом просторный зал под открытым небом, и высокие окна. Карнизы и капители колонн украшает изящный лепной растительный орнамент. Венчает здание невысокая ажурная аркада, обрамляющая стеклянный фонарь крыши.

Перед нишами боковых крыльев павильона, также декорированных аркадами, некогда располагались скульптуры «Чабан» и «Колхозница» (автор — А. И. Тенета). Они символизировали развитие общественного животноводства и механизацию зернового хозяйства.

В 1993 году число архитектурных элементов павильона «Народное образование» пополнили две вазы, исполненные в технике каслинского литья. Ранее они украшали ниши павильона «Профтехобразование», ныне утраченного.

Сегодня павильон «Народное образование» — одно из самых ярких композиционных звеньев ансамбля площади Дружбы народов.

История экспозиций

Первая экспозиция павильона №2 называлась «Северный Кавказ и Крым». Она занимала 2300 кв. м выставочных площадей и рассказывала о достижениях сельского хозяйства Ростовской, Каменской, Крымской и Грозненской областей, Ставропольского и Краснодарского краев, Дагестанской, Кабардинской и Северо-Осетинской АССР. Правда, вскоре в связи с передачей Крымской области из состава РСФСР Украинской ССР соответствующая часть экспозиции была переведена в павильон №58.

Стенды, диорамы и живописные панно украшенного фонтаном центрального зала и материалы расположенных вокруг него трех выставочных залов знакомили гостей ВСХВ с землями, дававшими замечательные урожаи зерновых, риса и сои; где на бескрайних просторах раскинулись сады и виноградники, плантации томатов, баклажанов и перца; где на обширных угодьях паслись многочисленные отары и табуны. Экспозиция рассказывала и о недрах Северного Кавказа, богатых нефтью, цветными металлами, каменным углем, а также об уникальных целебных минеральных источниках, известных на весь мир.

В оформлении стен павильона угадывались мотивы разнообразных сельскохозяйственных культур региона.

Кульминацией той, первой, экспозиции был просторный зимний сад с высокими пальмами, плодовыми деревьями и цветами. В цветнике стилобата и рядом с павильоном также были представлены различные растения Северного Кавказа.

В 1959 году павильон получил новое название — «Наука». Теперь в четырех его залах были представлены новейшие разработки в области вычислительной техники, микробиологии, физики, химии и гордости советской науки — освоения космоса. Раздел космонавтики занимал первый, а в 1962 году и второй залы павильона. Здесь можно было увидеть первые советские искусственные спутники Земли, модели космических ракет и многие другие космические разработки.

В оранжерее с 1959 по 1964 год располагалась часть экспозиции Эстонской ССР, которая не уместилась в соседнем павильоне.

В мае 1964 года все разделы экспозиции, кроме посвященного освоению космоса, были выведены в отдельные здания на территории ВДНХ СССР.

Современное название — «Народное образование» — павильон №2 обрел в 1967 году. Тогда в нем разместились достижения советского образования, объединенные в три больших раздела: «Дошкольное образование», «Общеобразовательная школа» и «Средние специальные и высшие учебные заведения».

В 1977 году в рамках проведения выставки «В стране единой», организованной к 60-летию Октябрьской революции, в здании павильона №2 была открыта экспозиция Латвийской ССР.

В сложный для Главной выставки страны период 1990-х — начала 2000-х годов в нем располагались представительство Республики Грузия, Музей СССР и даже Дом бабочек.

В 2014 году реставрация «Народного образования» стала частью программы возрождения ВДНХ. После реконструкции в нём была размещена интерактивная выставка «Робостанция».

В подборке
Уважаемые гости!

С 1 июня официально разрешены прогулки и занятия спортом на свежем воздухе. Мы будем рады вновь увидеть вас на территории ВДНХ!

Заниматься спортом можно ежедневно с 5:00 до 9:00, гулять по парковой зоне, аллеям и скверам — с 09:00 до 21:00.

Рекомендуется ограничить маршрут в радиусе 2 км от дома. Просим вас соблюдать режим «прогулочных дней», правила безопасности и иметь при себе документы, подтверждающие личность и место жительства.

С заботой о вас.

Команда ВДНХ.