The "Astronomy Photographer of the Year: Planets, Constellations, and Nebulas Through the Eyes of Photographers From All over the World" exhibition

On Thursday, 29 June 2017, the Polytechnic Museum, in association with the Royal Observatory Greenwich, is opening the "Astronomy Photographer of the Year: Planets, Constellations, and Nebulas Through the Eyes of Photographers From All over the World" exhibition. The exhibition, timed to coincide with the Insight Astronomy Photographer of the Year competition, will showcase astronomy photographs, Polytechnic Museum exhibits, and books from the Polytechnic Museum library.

Starry Photographs

People have always wanted to make distant space objects appear closer and see what is hidden by the distance. Every year, the Royal Observatory Greenwich offers astronomy photographers from all over the world the opportunity to send their best shots. These shots can become a part of the Insight Astronomy Photographer of the Year competition, held by the Royal Observatory. In 2016, the Observatory received over 4,500 applications from over 80 countries. The photographs captured all sorts of space objects (stars, planets, galaxies, and nebulas) and major astronomic events of the past year. The applications were separated into eight subject-based categories as well as one additional category for participants under 16 years old. Following the competition, 31 prize-winners were selected. You can see the prize-winning photographs at the exhibition of the Polytechnic Museum in VDNH.

Astronomical Instruments

In addition, the exhibition will display items from the museum collection which, at different times in history, allowed humanity to become closer to distant space objects. This includes telescopes and other astronomical instruments. Visitors will see telescopes made by George and Peter Dollond, the famous English optical instrument makers who lived in the 18th century; a transit instrument from the latter half of the 19th century; and a heliostat, an amazing instrument designed by Zilberman that saves the initial direction of light beams during the day. The exhibits also include the AT-1 telescope, which was invented specifically to observe the first artificial satellite of Earth, and a telescope designed by Pavel Argunov, an amateur astronomer.

Rare Books with Sky Maps

At the exhibition in the Polytechnic Museum pavilion at VDNH, you can also see books from the Museum Library. Among other things, you can view Johannes Hevelius's star atlas. The book includes brief information on the Samarkand Observatory of the 15th century and its head, the famous Uzbek astronomer Ulugh Beg. The publication fully reproduces the star atlas created in the 17th century by the famous Polish astronomer Johannes Hevelius, one of the first European scientists to include the catalogues of Ulugh Beg in his treatise. Moreover, the exposition also includes a star atlas by the Russian astronomer and former Director of the Pulkovo Observatory, Alexander Mikhaylov. His atlas, considered to be the most complete, consists of 20 maps, covering the whole sky from the North to the South Pole. The maps depict over 8,500 stars — more than even the sharpest unaided eye can see.

VENUE: Pavilion No. 26.
TIME: Tuesday – Friday from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Saturday – Sunday from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
ATTENTION! The exhibition is closed on Mondays. The last Wednesday of every odd month is a maintenance day.
PRICE: Free admission.

Год публикации Событие прошло

Выставка «Астрономический фотограф года. Планеты, созвездия и туманности глазами фотографов со всего света»

До 15 октября 2017 года Политехнический музей совместно с Гринвичской королевской обсерваторией показывает выставку «Астрономический фотограф года. Планеты, созвездия и туманности глазами фотографов со всего света». На выставке, приуроченной к конкурсу Insight Astronomy Photographer of the Year, будут показаны астрономические фотографии, экспонаты Политехнического музея и книги из собрания библиотеки Политехнического музея.

Звездные фото

Человеку всегда хотелось приблизить к себе далекие космические объекты, увидеть скрытое расстоянием. Каждый год Гринвичская королевская обсерватория предлагает астрофотографам со всего мира присылать свои лучшие снимки, которые могут стать частью конкурса Королевской обсерватории Insight Astronomy Photographer of the Year. В 2016 году обсерватория получила свыше 4500 заявок из более чем 80 стран. На снимках запечатлены всевозможные космические объекты (звезды, планеты, галактики, туманности) и значительные астрономические события прошлого года. Заявки распределились по восьми тематическим номинациям и одной дополнительной номинации для участников младше 16 лет. В результате конкурса был отобран 31 призер. Фотографии-победители можно увидеть на выставке Политехнического музея на ВДНХ.

Астрономические приборы

Помимо них, на выставке будут представлены предметы из коллекции музея, которые в разное время позволяли человечеству оказаться ближе к далеким космическим объектам: зрительные трубы и астрономические инструменты. Посетители увидят зрительные трубы известных английских мастеров-оптиков XVIII века Джорджа и Питера Доллондов, пассажный инструмент второй половины XIX века, удивительный прибор — гелиостат конструкции Зильбермана, который в течение дня сохраняет первоначальное направление светового луча. А также астрономическая трубка АТ-1, придуманная специально для того, чтобы проводить наблюдения за первым искусственным спутником Земли, и телескоп конструкции астронома-любителя Павла Аргунова.

Редкие книги с картами звездного неба

На выставке в павильоне Политехнического музея на ВДНХ можно ознакомиться с книгами из Библиотеки музея. Среди прочего можно будет увидеть Атлас звездного неба Яна Гевелия. Книга содержит краткие сведения о Самаркандской обсерватории XV в. и ее руководителе — знаменитом узбекском астрономе Улугбеке. В издании полностью воспроизводится Атлас звездного неба, составленный в XVII в. выдающимся польским астрономом Яном Гевелием, одним из первых европейских ученых, поместившим звездный каталог Улугбека в своем трактате. Помимо этого, в экспозиции есть Атлас звездного неба российского астронома и бывшего директора Пулковской обсерватории Александра Александровича Михайлова. Его атлас, который считается одним из самых полных, состоит из 20 карт, охватывающих все небо от северного до южного полюса. На картах изображено свыше 8500 звезд — больше, чем можно увидеть самым острым невооруженным глазом.

МЕСТО: павильон №26.
ВРЕМЯ: вторник–пятница с 11:00 до 19:00, суббота–воскресенье с 11:00 до 21:00.
ВНИМАНИЕ: выставка не работает по понедельникам. Последняя среда каждого нечетного месяца — санитарный день.
СТОИМОСТЬ: вход свободный.




Стоимость
Вход свободный 
Дата проведения
29 июня – 15 октября 2017 года
Расписание
Вторник — пятница
С 11:00 до 19:00
Суббота-воскресенье
С 11:00 до 21:00


БИЛЕТЫ
НА МЕРОПРИЯТИЯ ВДНХ
НОВОСТИ И АНОНСЫ ВДНХ
Подписаться